The Klamath Basin Peace Forum

February 4, 2007

The Dignity of Us All

Filed under: Uncategorized — kbpeaceforum @ 2:20 pm

Friends,

I came across The Birmingham Pledge while working with Klamath Community College’s efforts to present information to students about diversity.  I include it here for each individual to consider.

The Birmingham Pledge

  • I believe that every person has worth as an individual.
  • I believe that every person is entitled to dignity and respect, regardless of race or color.
  • I believe that every thought and every act of racial prejudice is harmful; if it is my thought or act, then it is harmful to me as well as to others.
  • Therefore, from this day forward I will strive daily to eliminate racial prejudice from my thoughts and actions.
  • I will discourage racial prejudice by others at every opportunity.
  • I will treat all people with dignity and respect; and I will strive daily to honor this pledge, knowing that the world will be a better place because of my effort.

As a peace organization, I believe it is important to support the dignity of each of us. To sign this pledge, go to

http://www.birminghampledge.org/

Thanks to all:

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

